Posted in Tag

Genre Book Tag

I was tagged on something!

The lovely Bibi @Bibi’s Book Blog did this tag the other day and decided that my answers could be interesting(?) So go check out that post and then come back and see what mess I get up to!

No rules! Just a reminder:

Ok so basically with the genre tag you answer the questions provided and tag a few people so look out for that at the end.

booktag

Fun Fact: In Spanish genre and gender are the same word: género so from now on I’ll identify solely as Fantasy ((Please note this is a joke, my pronouns are still she/her or they/them))

1. What is your favourite genre?

Fantasy!

Imagen relacionada

2. Who is your favourite author from that genre?

Listen, I managed to narrow the list to three contemporary authors and they are all so different and so important for me:

  1. Zoraida Córdova writes urban fantasy based in her latina roots
  2. Tara Sim writes queer steam punk fantasy and talks about being mixed race and belonging
  3. Patrick Rothfuss writes high fantasy and has created one of my favorite characters and world in his Kingkiller Chronicle

3. What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back? 

The infinite amount of possibility, when you are writing a fantasy literally anything can happen there’s no limits to where you can take the story, what your characters can do and how much they can grow.

The potential is what always enamored me of the fantasy genre

4. What is the book that started your love for that genre? 

This may be surprising for some of you but it wasn’t Harry Potter (I know, right?)

It all started with the LotR movies and my simultaneous crushes on both Aragon and Arwen

The books that held my hand and took me away were actually The Chronicles of Narnia by CS Lewis

3e2a3-las-cronicas-de-narnia-saga-completa-7-libros-tapa-dura-2315-mlv4406331675_052013-f

5. If you had to recommend at least 1 book from your favourite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start reading this genre, what book would you choose and why? 

For a beginner? Well, I know that the most daunting thing when taking a shot at fantasy is the volume, most fantasies are huge books or long series and usually both. So to avoid that and still make sure you get the best experience? I’d recommend The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien. Despite having three unnecesary movies, this book is barely three hundred pages and tells the whole story. The story is easy to follow and the characters introduced aren’t so many that you get confused. Also, Bilbo is a useless bastard and I love him.

I picked this as well because it’s Tolkien and even if you don’t keep reading fantasy you can say you’ve read Tolkien and that’s pretty cool.

6. Why do you read? 

Because just one life isn’t enough for me. I want to see and experience everything, I want to meet as many people as possible and to have adventures. I read because the world is vast and I want to hold the entirety of it between my hands.

Tagging time!

Kathy // Perfectly Tolerable // Kay // Kathy

Author:

Book lover and hockey goalie from Argentina. Trying to figure life out

6 thoughts on “Genre Book Tag

Leave a comment